History

Before I really got into taking my own photographs I spent a lot of time reading/viewing works by Ansel Adams. I would often travel to the public library and get out a few books at a time. I was inspired by his explorations into nature to capture once-in-a-lifetime shots! I enjoyed the textures and character that I found in his photographs. I also admired the process to produce such beautiful pieces of art. Black and white photography became an obsession–and at that time I felt that the only photographs worth my time were those in black and white.

I would estimate that this impacted me so much I exclusively took photos with black and white film for at least the first 5 years of my artistic journey as a photographer. In addition I solely shot nature and architecture scenes– no people, no animals. Photography at this time was about what I liked and  what I felt I was capable of doing well. Printing these photos would also add to the decor in my room.

The more I found interest in black and white photography the more I saw it everywhere. I began noticing pictures on everyday greeting cards. I felt that these cards were elegant and classy. As I gained confidence in my ability to take better photographs I decided to also start producing greeting cards of my own for friends and family. My family and friends were (and continue to be) so supportive of this as well. They would often ask for background information of the photograph and said they liked it because they knew it was one-of-a-kind.

This is a picture I began to use for baby and wedding showers:lilly

And the journey continues…

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment with your thoughts. This will help me write future posts.

Leave a Reply

