First Post

My vision is to use this tool to share the inspiration behind my photographs; perhaps my intention or background information to help you understand where I am coming from. In a way, I also want to use this forum to track my thoughts and help me to remember my journey as an artist.

To begin, my journey as a photographer started 14 years ago. I spent a lot of time examining black and white photography and decided to take a crack at it myself. My father gave me his old camera, a Minolta 35mm from the 1980s. I am not quite sure of the model–to tell the truth, I wish I still had the camera that started my journey into the art of photography.

I played with light, time, and space using film. It was a lot of trial and error. I found that I would love about one picture per roll of film, but I continued to experiment.

As part of a Chemistry class assignment in High School I decided to do a project on the process of developing photographs. I created my own pin hole camera and developed photographs on black and white photo paper. I found my appreciation for processes of the past deepen, and my interest in playing with current technologies questionable.

Around 2000 I wasn’t sure if I wanted to leave my 35mm camera and go for digital. Would it still be photography? Would the quality be the same? Would I still be in control; be the artist?

Obviously, you will see the result of this inner debate throughout my posts.

One of my first pictures I was proud to say I took:

One of my first photographs
One of my first photographs

 

It is a scanned copy (scanned in 2000) of a photograph, explains the quality.

 

 

Leave a Reply

